Opening Remarks

  • Dirk Van Hertem – KU Leuven – EnergyVille – General chair, IEEE Summit
  • Marko Delimar – University of Zagreb – Chair, IEEE EPPC
  • Eva Kaili – MEP – Chair, The Future of Science and Technology Panel in the European Parliament (STOA)
  • Paul Komor – Associate Director, Renewable and Sustainable Energy Institute (RASEI), University of Colorado Boulder


  • Jacki Davis – Managing Director, Meade Davis Communications

Panel 1 – The Green Deal: Through Electric Energy Transition?

  • Adel El Gamma – Secretary General, EERA
  • Lluberes Gelem – Director of Service Agreements Power Generation, Europe, Africa, & Asia, Siemens Gas and Power – Member of the Board, Future Energy Leaders – World Energy Council
  • Nikos Hatziargyriou – Professor, National Technical University of Athens – Co-chair, EU Technology and Innovation Platform on Smart Networks for Energy Transition (ETIP SNET)
  • Vera Silva – Chief Technical Officer, General Electric Grid Solutions

Panel 2 – Digital for a European Green Deal

  • Panel opening statments by Khalil Rouhana – Deputy Director-General in DG CONNECT, European Commission

  • Arnout Aertgeerts – Chief Technical Officer, Flexicity
  • Andreas Breuer – Vice President of New Technologies / Projects, Innogy
  • Jaafar Elmirghani – Professor, University of Leeds – Co-Chair, IEEE Sustainable ICT initiative
  • Willem Jonker – Chief Executive Officer, EIT Digital
  • Bruno Meyer – Energy Consultant – Member of IEEE EPPC

Panel 3 – Incentivising Tech Development

  • Panel opening statments by Patrick Child – Deputy Director-General in Research and Innovation, European Commission
  • Koenraad Debackere – Professor and general manager, KU Leuven
  • Pär Lundström – Expert on Skills Provision and Vocational Education and Training, The Confederation of Swedish Enterprises – Representative, Management Board of Cedefop
  • Diego Pavia – Chief Executive Officer, EIT InnoEnergy
  • Chris Peeters – Chief Executive Officer, Elia Group
  • Alberto Pototschnig – Former director, ACER
  • Michael Webber – Chief Science and Technology Officer, ENGIE